top of page

John Paulson Big Band 


The Refuge Project

featuring Adam Meckler, trumpet & flugelhorn

all compositions by John C. Paulson 


CD Track Order:


1. Blues for S.C.

2. Refuge w/ Janette Hanson (voice) 

3. You Gotta Tri

4. Lonely One

5. Refuge (instrumental version)

6. I Fear A Rhapsody

7. Monkey Bread (Blues) 



March 4 & 5 2023

Winona, MN 



Alto 1 Rich Rohrbaugh  (Rochester, MN)  

Alto 2 Aaron Lohmeyer (Winona, MN) 

Tenor 1 John Paulson (Winona, MN) 

Tenor 2 Ray Dretske (Winona, MN)

Baritone  Dave Townsend (Rochester, MN)  



1. Warren Bandel (Rochester, MN)

2. Adam Meckler (Houghton, MI)   

3. Mike Snustead (La Crosse, WI) 

4.  John Mundy (Wabasha, MN) 



1.  John Sievers (Rochester, MN)

2. Dustin Moburg (La Crescent, MN ) 

3.  Eric Heukeshoven (Winona, MN)  

4.  Tom Nalli (Winona, MN) 


Rhythm Section:

piano: Ryan Howe (La Crescent, MN)

bass:  Troy Birdsong (La Crosse, WI) 

guitar:  Scott Gerry (Mpls., MN)   

drums:  Rich MacDonald  (Winona, MN) 

percussion: Denny McGuire, (Rollingstone, MN)

Production Staff: 

recording engineer, mixing & mastering:   

Brett Huus- Soundstrations

assistants: Ed Smerud  and Kai Klitgaard 
assisting audio editor: Rich MacDonald 

cover painting: Patrick Grace

graphic design:  A. Eric Heukeshoven


John C. Paulson is a fiscal year 2023 recipient of a Creative Support for Individuals grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board. This activity is made possible by the voters of Minnesota through a grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the arts and cultural

heritage fund.  

Available on all popular streaming services & hard copies at Momentous Records
visit the store for direct links
bottom of page